Six For Sunday: Pumpkin Spice Goodness – Books That Gave Me Feels

It’s another Sunday which can only mean it’s time for another Six for Sunday prompt from Steph!

Six for Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Steph at ALITTLEBUTALOT. You can find a list of prompts for October, November and December here

Books That Gave Me Feels

Books that gave me feels… This is such an interesting prompt for me as it made me really think about what feels means for me… So I’ve not just gone for light and fluffy feels I’ve gone for books that gave me such strong emotions that the books still really stick in my mind even decades later in some cases…

The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

About The Book…

Will is the bearer of the knife. Now, accompanied by angels, his task is to deliver that powerful, dangerous weapon to Lord Asriel – by the command of his dying father.

But how can he go looking for Lord Asriel when Lyra is gone? Only with her help can he fathom the myriad plots and and intrigues that beset him.

The two great powers of the many worlds are lining up for war, and Will must find Lyra, for together they are on their way to battle, an inevitable journey that will even take them to the world of the dead…

First up we have one of those aforementioned books that has stuck in my mind for years and years, ever since I first read this in my teens. I could have probably picked any of the books from this trilogy as they all contain parts that have stuck in my mind but I think I have to go with the final book in the series… I’m not sure if 20 years after it was published I still have to worry about spoilers so I’ll just say there is decision Will and Lyra have to make which is heartbreaking


Gilded Cage by Vic James

About The Book…

In modern-day Britain, magic users control everything: wealth, politics, power—and you. If you’re not one of the ultimate one-percenters—the magical elite—you owe them ten years of service. Do those years when you’re old, and you’ll never get through them. Do them young, and you’ll never get over them.

This is the darkly decadent world of Gilded Cage. In its glittering milieu move the all-powerful Jardines and the everyday Hadleys. The families have only one thing in common: Each has three children. But their destinies entwine when one family enters the service of the other. They will all discover whether any magic is more powerful than the human spirit.

This is another trilogy that gave me so many feels! Again I could probably have picked any of the books from this trilogy, this was just such a rollercoaster of emotions particularly in relation to the three Jardine men. My thoughts on each of them changed so many times over the course of the series!


Jack Of Hearts [And Other Parts] by L. C. Rosen

About The Book…

My first time getting it in the butt was kind of weird. I think it’s going to be weird for everyone’s first time, though.

Meet Jack Rothman. He’s seventeen and loves partying, makeup and boys – sometimes all at the same time. His sex life makes him the hot topic for the high school gossip machine. But who cares? Like Jack always says, ‘it could be worse’.

He doesn’t actually expect that to come true.

But after Jack starts writing an online sex advice column, the mysterious love letters he’s been getting take a turn for the creepy. Jack’s secret admirer knows everything: where he’s hanging out, who he’s sleeping with, who his mum is dating. They claim they love Jack, but not his unashamedly queer lifestyle. They need him to curb his sexuality, or they’ll force him.

As the pressure mounts, Jack must unmask his stalker before their obsession becomes genuinely dangerous…

This book had me shaking with rage at the injustice Jack faced. It’s a good job I couldn’t come face to face with the headmaster in this book as it probably wouldn’t have ended well for either of us!


Viper by Bex Hogan

About The Book…

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life – to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles – but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.

He will make me a killer.
Or he will have me killed.
That is my destiny.


Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He’s the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne’s father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves – and perhaps even her life?

A brave heroine. An impossible dilemma. An epic new fantasy trilogy set on the high seas. 

Oh Bex, the emotional rollercoaster she put me through with the first two books in her Isles Of Storm And Sorrow trilogy. Again I could easily have picked either of the two books as both have sections that will completely ruin you. I’ve gone with Viper though as the section that most got to me is very final, whereas I’m clinging to hope that the section that ripped out my heart in Venom is redeemable in Vulture


Rumblestar by Abi Elphinstone

About The Book…

‘Adventures are unpredictable and often terribly badly behaved – a bit like pickled onions if you’ve ever tried to fork one on a plate – but they have a way of unlocking people and turning them upside down so that all the astonishing things fizzing around inside them start to tumble out…’
 
Eleven-year-old Casper Tock hates risks, is allergic to adventures and shudders at the thought of unpredictable events. So, it comes as a nasty shock to him when he accidentally stumbles into Rumblestar, an Unmapped Kingdom full of magical beasts.
 
All Casper wants is to find a way home, but Rumblestar is in trouble. An evil harpy called Morg is sending her followers, the Midnights, into the kingdom to wreak havoc and pave the way for her to steal the Unmapped magic for herself. But Casper cannot turn a blind eye because the future of his own world, he discovers, is bound up with that of the Unmapped Kingdoms. 
 
And so, together with Utterly Thankless, a girl who hates rules and is allergic to behaving, and her miniature dragon, Arlo, Casper embarks upon an adventure full of cloud giants, storm ogres and drizzle hags. Can he, Utterly and Arlo, the unlikeliest of heroes, save the Unmapped Kingdoms and our world from the clutches of Morg and her Midnights?

I ADORED Arlo he’s definitely a character that made me feel all warm and fluffy, but it’s Utterly Thankless’s backstory that earned Rumblestar a spot on my list this week.


The Gathering Dark by James Oswald

About The Book…

A truck driver loses control in central Edinburgh, ploughing into a crowded bus stop and spilling his vehicle’s toxic load. The consequences are devastating.

DI Tony McLean witnesses the carnage. Taking control of the investigation, he soon realises there is much that is deeply amiss – and everyone involved seems to have something to hide.

But as McLean struggles to uncover who caused the tragedy, a greater crisis develops: the new Chief Superintendent’s son is missing, last seen in the area of the crash . . .

I think the reason the 8th book in James Oswald’s Inspector McLean series was the juxtaposition to the ending of the 7th book. Written In Bones had such a positive, hopeful ending and this book saw that potential happiness ripped away. It was so sad!

They were my #SixforSunday! If you’ve taken part leave a link to your post below and I’ll be sure to check it out!

2 thoughts on “Six For Sunday: Pumpkin Spice Goodness – Books That Gave Me Feels

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.